Skip to content

The end of an era.

April 11, 2012

Ever since I was 13 or so, I’ve been completely addicted to soda. Coca Cola in particular. I’d drink up to two litres a day, every day. Needless to say, this was not very healthy, and throughout the years I’ve made several attempts at cutting down or quitting all together, without much success. I’d last maybe a day, and then get horrible headaches from the lack of caffeine and sugar. It didn’t help that I wasn’t a big fan of water or anything else that was healthy to drink.

About two and a half months ago I decided to just go for it. No soda except for on weekends and special occasions. And I’ve actually done it!  The first few days were tough, but now it’s relatively easy to resist reaching for that sugary stuff. I just make myself a nice hot cup of tea if it gets bad, and try to bring a water bottle with me to school every day. I also make sure I don’t buy any soda, because the temptation would just be to big if I knew I could just go to my fridge to get a can or pour myself a glass.

I don’t know why this attempt at quitting sodas turned out to be a success when I’ve failed so miserably in the past. Maybe I’ve just been more determined and motivated? Who knows. I’m just happy I’ve managed it thus far, and I’ll try my best to keep it up.

Me quitting soda…and not only that, I’ve quit biting my nails too! I actually have long nails! What is happening to the world?! Has hell frozen over or something? Now I just need to cut down on other sugary candy…Curse you, Chocolate, why must you be so seductive?

And just because no blog post is complete without a picture; here’s an old one of me:

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2012 4:47 pm

    You go girl! 🙂

  2. April 23, 2012 10:05 pm

    Good for you! I’ve been doing the same thing, and now I’m to the point that I don’t even really care for soda anymore. Shocking, isn’t it? lol But keep it up! 🙂

  3. August 3, 2012 5:53 am

    Aww I know how this feels! I’ve loved Coca Cola a whole lot, and I just can’t seem to stop drinking! Before, I used to drink at least a can per day, but now I also decided to drink Cola during special events or when I just feel like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

