Skip to content

My top 10 Childhood fads and things part 2

September 10, 2011

Tada! Here it is! Part 2 of my top 10 or so childhood obsessions and things. Let’s kick it off with something epic, shall we?

6. Dinosaurs:I used to love, love, love dinosaur toys as a child. On one of our home videos, a 5-year-old me is bathing my brachosaurus-figure in the kitchen sink. And in elementary school a friend and I founded The Dino-Club. It was very exclusive with only us two as members. And yes, one of my favorite movies as a child was The Land Before Time, or as I knew it, Lillefot og Vennene Hans.

Aaaaaaaw....

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

7. Disney: Partially to blame for my unrealistic expectation in men. I grew up in what I consider to be the golden era of Disney cartoons. I remember seeing Sleeping Beauty, Mulan, Beauty and the Beast, the Lion King and Aladdin at the movies, and it was love at almost first sight. I still watch my Disney DVD’s now and then, and I always end up singing along to the songs. I also remember seeing all these short little classics on a tape. Said tape still exists somewhere, but I don’t have a VHS player anymore, so it’s fairly useless.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

8.Rock A’Doodle

One of my all time favorite cartoons. It’s about a young boy who gets turned into a kitten by an evil owl. The boy/kitten then has to help a group of farm animals find the rooster Chanticleer, who disappeared from the farm when he thought the sun would rise without him singing. The story is fun, the songs are catchy, at least as far as I can remember.  The past few years I’ve been searching for the norwegian version, but no luck so far.

*Start singing~Cockadoo what a day~ *

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

9. Fort Boyard/Fangene på Fortet

Origninaly a french gameshow that Norway adapted as its own. It ran from 1993 to 2002, with a break from 97-99. A group of people are transported to Fort Boyard, a fortress on the west coast of France. There they have to complete different challenges, like crawling through a room full of spiders and scorpions trying to find tiny pieces of paper with a password, bungee jumping, wrestling and loads of other things. The competitors get one key for each challenge they manage. The goal is to get as many keys as possible, solve a riddle, then get as much gold from a cage as you possibly can before the resident tigers are released.  I loved it, and now TV3 have started airing new episodes after almost ten years!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

10. Pogs

Who knew that small, round pieces of cardboard in bright colors could be so much fun and create so much rivalry? I used to collect and trade Pogs  when I was about 9 or 10. Of course it was all about the shiny ones and the metal slammers.  All the kids in my neighborhood would gather outside one of the apartment buildings to play, and it was a great time.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

There were so many things I wanted to write about that this list could easily have become 4 or 5 parts long, but I’ll leave it here. Spice Girls collectible cards, the movie Dangerous Minds, so-called self-tying shoelaces, Sesame Street ( the norwegian version at least, called Sesam Stasjon), hair mascara, Are You Afraid Of The Dark, Nintendo and Sega,  a whole ton of cartoons…these all shaped my childhood.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

