Skip to content

Pottermore and a very emotional Sorting…(Spoiler-free)

September 3, 2011

I am one of the lucky million who gets to beta-test Pottermore, and yesterday, after what felt like an excruciatingly long two week wait, I finaly got my Welcome mail. Honestly, I understand that the developers need to let people in in small groups at a time, but honestly, the waiting period is getting ridiculous now. They knew how many people registered for beta-testing, and they should have been prepared for that.  It’s been two out of six weeks now, and only one seventh have been let in so far. But enough about that…

I’m in, and I’ve spent a few hours yesterday and today exploring, getting a wand, and more importantly, being sorted.  I, like so many other Potter-fans out there, have been anticipating getting sorted with a mixture of dread and excitement. What if I got sorted in to the wrong House?

The last few years I’ve felt more and more connected to Ravenclaw. While I don’t really consider my self particularly smart or witty, I’ve always felt like I would fit right in with Ravenclaw. I pride myself on at least getting decent grades, even if they’re not the best. I love learning new things,  and when I read the description of their common room in Deathly Hallows, I knew this was the House for me. Big and airy, with tall windows, a domed ceiling dotted with stars, loads of bookshelves…Simply stunning.

When I got to the Sorting Ceremony in Pottermore I had to take a deep breath before I started. My dread grew question after question, until finaly:

THE SORTING HAT HAS PLACED YOU IN HUFFLEPUFF!

…..Hufflepuff? HUFFLEPUFF?? Really? *Stunned pause* Now I have nothing against Hufflepuff. I like Hufflepuff. I just never really connected to it, just like I never really connected to Slytherin or Gryffindor either. I’m not very patient and at times I can be plain lazy.

Reading the more detailed description of Hufflepuff afterwards, I guess I do see the Puff in me. It does suit me, but I still feel a bit strange about it. Then I feel strange about feeling strange about it. After all, it is just a fictional House and an online quiz. It doesn’t feel that way though. Like this lovely little blogpost says, your House sort of defines you as a person. Gryffindors are brave and daring, Slytherins are ambitious and cunning, Ravenclaws clever and witty fond of learning, while Hufflepuffs are loyal and has a great sense of justice. And if you’ve associated yourself with a House for years and years the way many Potterheads have, then it is heartbreaking to suddenly not belong there anymore, through a Sorting created by Rowling herself. So I guess I’ll go shopping for some yellow and black yarn for my new scarf ( and I just got my blue and bronze Raveclaw one!).  I’ll get used to my new Hufflepuff-self for sure, and show my badger-pride, it’ll just take a little time. And I’ll always be a RavenPuff or HuffleClaw by heart.

….Oh, and I love my wand! Redwood with a unicorn hair core, 10 inches, quite flexible.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2011 11:25 pm

    RavenPuff, HuffleClaw, GriffinPuff, Huffledor 😛

  2. Jasnette permalink
    September 4, 2011 9:19 am

    Now I’m getting nervous…

    • September 4, 2011 6:49 pm

      Don’t worry, you SlytherClaw you. You’ll get in to a house that suits you. The more I think about it, Hufflepuff DOES seem logical for me, but I just never pictured my self there. Just really read the description of the house that you get once the sorting is done, and you’ll probably recognize yourself.

  3. September 4, 2011 11:25 am

    I havent gotten my owl and im already afraid of the sorting hat.. i hope it places me in the house i always though i belong in.

    • September 4, 2011 6:55 pm

      If it doesn’t, don’t worry about it. Like I said to Jasnette in the comment above, just take your time to really read and think through the description of the house you get. The odds are you’ll find at least something that fits you. The results give you a bit more thorough description of the house ,not just the qualities you hear about in the book.

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Harry Potter And The Most Highly Anticipated Email « anyonething

Leave a Reply

