Skip to content

My top 10(or so) childhood things, part 1

August 17, 2011

I work part-time at a library. Libraries have all kinds of fun,wonderful, strange things. A few months back I found a book called “Childhood-the 90’s.” It listed and explained different fads, fashions, tv-shows and other things that defined those that grew up in the 1990’s. It was hilarious reading through it, remembering the things from that era that I loved, and some that I still adore.

I originally planed for this to be a top 10 kind of thing, but as my list grew and more and more, making me grin with a mixture of embarrassment and loving memories , I realized that it had to be a bit longer…I’m thinking top 15, divided into 3 parts.

So here we go, a dive into my weird childhood obsessions. My Top 10 or so childhood fads, in no particular order.

1. Kaptein Sabeltann:
or as he’s known in the english speaking world: Captain Sabertooth.I grew up with the original bunch, with Janne Formoe as Sunniva(Veronica), and her father, Terje Formoe, as Sabertooth himself. A friend and I used to sit in her basement, singing along to the songs. If I remember correctly, Pinky(Tiny to you non-norwegians out there), was one of my first fictional crushes. To this day I still remember a lot of the songs, and Pinky’s Song is as awesome as ever, not to mention Grusomme Gabriel ( Gory Gabriel). Also I can not explain enough how much I loathe the English name translations. Why couldn’t Pinky just be named Pinky?

……………………………………………………..

2. Hélène et les garçons:

I used to watch this show religiously when I was in elementary school. I ran home once the bell sounded, and when my school days became longer during fourth and fifth grade, I died a little inside as I realised that I would no longer be able to get my daily dose of french tv. I don’t remember much of it now, but it was about a bunch of young friends and their daily life. Hélène wanted to become a musician, as did most of her male friends. Her roommates wanted to become models, I think. And then there’s the boy’s hair…Oh the HAIR!! Of course I realize just how bad the show really was, but still, I used to love it!

………………………………………………………..

3. Pacific Blue

The bike cops of Santa Monica beach was a staple of my childhood and tween summers. It’s still somewhat a tradition of mine to watch a few episodes every summer, once the reruns start. And yes, I always get the theme song stuck in my head.

And of course, it doesn’t hurt that most of the male cast is absolutely gorgeous.



…………………………………………………………………

4. Power Rangers

The grief was great in my household when TV3 canceled Power Rangers. My brother, my sister and I used to get up early on saturdays just to watch the Rangers transform and battle evil…things. This is another show I don’t really remember much of, except bad guys dressed in gray catsuits, and the fact that the Power Rangers were always almost exposed by two guys from their school. And the main bad girl that I remember had a very elaborate, over the top costume…

…………………………………………………………………

5. Pokemon

Still freakin’ epic. Enough said. Now sing with me: I wanna be the very best, like no one ever was…

…………………………………………………………

To be continued….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

