Skip to content

Escape.

July 30, 2011

This past week has been so strange.  After the bombing in Oslo and the massacre at Utøya, the entire country went into mourning. I’ve been feeling a mixture of numbness, shock,sadness and gratitude that no one I know was hurt. Things are slowly returning to normal now, though. I took part in the memorial in Levanger this Monday, which was sad, nice, moving and heartbreaking.

I had to get away from all the headlines and news everywhere, it was driving me crazy, and I was exhausted from being close to tears for three days straight. I got on the train and spent the week with my aunt, her kids and my grandparents. It was great getting a few days with my grandmother and granddad before they drove north to their own home. I don’t get to meet them very often since they live quite far away, so every moment I get with them is precious.  Before they left, we had a nice little lunch outside in the sun.

Caramell-cake, bread,cheese, rolls and crackers. A perfect lunch. I love having relatives who don’t live on a student budget!

My 16 year-old cousin bought himself a cheap, old, wooden rowing boat a while back, and almost every day since he’s been outside, cleaning it, oiling it and preparing it for the launch. Said launch happened on thursday afternoon. It was quite uneventful really. The boat didn’t sink and it was too hot outside. While tying up the boat I discovered a hidden little gem of a place though: The docks! It’s just a tiny wooden platform, but still..It can’t be seen from the road, it’s by the water, and big enough to bring a blanket for a day outside with a good book and some tanning…even if I hate tanning.

Pretty, or what?

Rowing away in the boat!

This picture reminded me of Hamlet, for some reason. Well, Ophelia, I guess.

Pretty waterlilies.

I could barely resist picking a handful of these yummy looking wild rasberries..But then I saw all the cobwebs and stuff on them. I found a strawberry on my way home though. It more than made up for it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 9:20 am

    So interesting to read your blog. The dainty outdoor picnic and your cousins boat. Norway seems magical for someone who lives in the US (me).

  2. September 27, 2011 7:03 pm

    Thanks 🙂 My aunts place is really gorgeous. The US has a lot of beautiful places too though.

Leave a Reply

