Skip to content

Spring cleaning

March 17, 2011

Reading Badgers story of her brothers soapy adventure, I was inspired to tell a little story of my own.

When I was little, I used to love the smell of our apartment during spring cleaning. My mom would throw open all the windows and somehow the smell of freshly cut grass and soap plus the draft from the windows transformed the appartment. I was 8 at the time, and one morning a friend and I decided clean the house as a surprise for my mom.

I got up early, as I usually did on my days off from school, got a bucket and a mop, ready to clean some floors. Now all that was missing was the soap. I got our Zalo and pored about half the bottle into the bucket.

Now what you need to know about Zalo is that you usually don’t need much of it, and it’s not intended for cleaning floors. The commercial says that one drop is enough to clean your dishes, and they’re actually right. So when my friend and I started filling the bucket with hot water it foamed like crazy. We were pretty unexperienced house-cleaners so we thought nothing of it. The next twenty minutes passed in a blur of water, foam and bubbles. The soap left the floor so slippery that we used it to pretend-ice skate. We had a blast, and didn’t worry much about all the foam all over our linolium floor.

When my mom came downstairs we happily yelled “suprise!”, our gigantic smiles barely visible through the foam that covered us from head to toe. My mom, kind as she was, acted suprised and grateful for our help, but we could spot a slight twitching in the corners of her mouth. Getting up to a house filled with water and foam was not was she had in mind that day.

The floors still foamed whenever we cleaned them when we moved out of the apartment four years later.

(Photo found at: http://theinspirationroom.com/daily/2008/sony-filming-foam-in-miami/)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jasnette permalink
    March 17, 2011 5:37 pm

    Immagine how surprised the new attendants must have been the first time they cleaned the floors…

  2. March 17, 2011 8:13 pm

    Hahahahahah..Yeah, I’ve been thinking of that for years!

Leave a Reply

