Skip to content

Where I grew up.

January 22, 2011

Plinky prompted us to describe the place we grew up, and explain why we still live there or why we moved.

Kautokeino. There's usually more snow when I'm there though.

I don’t really have a place I grew up in.  As an “air force brat” I moved a lot through out my childhood. Let me see…I spent my first year in Kautokeino, in the northern most part of Norway. It’s a tiny town where the winters are freezing cold and the summers are filled with the mosquitoes and gnats that thrive in the marshlands and lakes that cover the area. It’s a very beautiful place, it truly is, but not somewhere I would want to live now. My grandparents still live there though, and I visit them, and our cabin there, now and then.

After my first year, my mom and I moved to Tromsø. From there we moved to Trondheim, then back to Tromsø, continuing on to Honningsvåg a year or so later, and then finally stopped to take a breather back in Trondheim for about 6 years. This was all before my 6th birthday…or if I remember correctly, we moved on my 6th birthday!  There is a very good reason I’ll never even seriously consider joining the military, and I would have to be madly in love to ever get involved with a military man. I’ve lived that life, and it’s not for me.

Damn it! Now I want to write a post about being a kid in a military family! Maybe later…

After the record-breaking 6 years in Trondheim, we moved again when I was 12. This time to Jurbise, Belgium. My dad had gotten a job at the NATO base there, S.H.A.P.E. I loved it, and actually still really miss being there. It was just a few hours away from London, and honestly, who else can say that they’ve taken a wrong turn driving to a birthday party and ended up in Paris?(Yes, really! ) We lived there for three years, and ended up back in Norway again, this time on Ørland, where my mom still lives. I hate the place, so since then I’ve moved twice. Once to spend a year at a folk high school outside Bergen, and then to Levanger to study, and here I am!

The beautiful Nidaros Cathedral

If someone asks me, I usually answer that I’m from Trondheim. It is the place I’ve lived the longest after all.  We stayed in a relatively small two-story apartment rented from the air force. We were lucky enough to be close to a wooded area, so I used to take walks up to a small pond a kilometer away. My school was close by as well, so there was no need for busses or for my parents to drive me there. Right behind the apartment building there was a gravel football/soccer field the neighborhood kids played on, a playground and a grass meadow. After we moved though, things have changed it seems. I’ve been told that the area had, and still has, a pretty bad reputation in town, and that there were some drug issues.

The neighborhood we lived in was on the outskirts of Trondheim. The downtown area was quite different, but I wasn’t there much. We only went there when we needed something special, or when my parents decided to treat me and my siblings to a McDonald’s meal. There’s a river running through the area, and it’s surrounded by beautiful, old wooden docks. In fact, a lot of the houses in Trondheim are wooden. In the old marketplace there’s a statue of the city founder,Olav Trygvasson, and close by is one of the most famous churches in Norway, the Nidaros Cathedral. If you’re ever in Trondheim, make sure you see it! And have a stroll around the marina just below the church area. I think it’s one of the prettiest spots in the entire city.  I don’t really know what else to say…Describing places has never really been my strong point. All in all, I’d say Trondheim was a decent, but tough place to grow up. It’s a town like most others in Norway, I guess, both for god and ill. It’s a pretty place, if you know where to look, but the people, like a lot of Norwegians, aren’t the most approachable and can seem cold from the outside, I suppose, but friendly once you get to know them.

( The picture of Kautokeino was found at  http://www.nrk.no/contentfile/file/1.6292566!f169CropList/img650x367.jpg , and the photo of the Nidaros Cathedral at Wikipedia. )

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 8:53 pm

    Kult med et sånt innlegg, syns je kjenne deg litt bedre no ^^,

  2. lorentze permalink
    January 23, 2011 1:49 am

    *grins* I already knew most of it, but not the part about the wrong turn and Paris, that’s kinda brilliant!
    I want to do one of these too, maybe tomorrow? I have something else in mind for now.

  3. January 23, 2011 2:55 am

    Elisabeth: Ja, syns det va en arti post å skriv å 😀 Æ huska faktisk meir fra åran i Trondheim enn de æ trudd.

    Lorentze: Hehehehehe, yeah, the Paris thing was kind of epic. The wrong turn took us to the Belgian equivalent of a motorvei, and there were huuuuuge cement block deviders in the middle of the road to prevent head-on collisons. The thing is, these deviders also prevented us from turning around to get back home. So we had to drive and drive until one and a half hours later we found an exit a few kilometers outside Paris. Needless to say, we were very late to the party.

Leave a Reply

