Skip to content

Begining a new year.

December 30, 2010

Tomorrow is the last day of 2010. I can’t exactly say I’m sorry to see the year come to an end though. It’s been a rough 365 days, and I wouldn’t relive them if I could. Hopefully 2011 will treat me better, and give me some pleasant surprises.

I’m not going to make any New Years Resolutions. I don’t believe in them, and I never have. What I will do is write what I hope will happen, what I hope to do the following year. These will be wishes that I want to achieve, that I CAN achieve if I put my mind to it,  not a promise the way I consider a resolution to be.

Throughout 2011 I hope to:

  • Travel. I haven’t had a proper vacation somewhere other than my parents house or visiting relatives in Oslo since July 2003, if I remember correctly, and I need a proper break…badly. Right now, I’m longing for either a sandy beach or poolside under a blistering sun somewhere. This is really saying something, since I usually can’t stand heat or sand, and being remotely exposed in public, like I would feel in a swimsuit, is my idea of the deepest level of Hell.

  • Continue working out. If you had told me six months ago that I would be joining a gym and actually love Spinning, I think I would have phoned the nice men in white coats to take you away in a pretty, new tight jacket. Thus, I’m pretty proud of my self, and hope to keep it up.
  • Be a better blogger. I’ve been a beyond lazy writer lately, and I hope that changes. I like blogging,  but that can you do? No inspiration is no inspiration, and if you knew the year I’ve had, you would most likely forgive me for not putting my blog first. Quality over quantity any day, words to live by, my friend, though I feel like both have been lacking here the past year.
  • Read more “new” books, not just the same ones over again. I feel like I’m stuck in a bit of a rut when it comes to my reading. I love to discover new literature and new authors, but lately I’ve been sticking to my good old favorites like Harry Potter, Geisha, and Lord of the Rings. The closest I came to picking up something I hadn’t read before was when I went through my Stephen King phase a few months ago, and when I got the sudden urge to read the Hunger Games . I got a book for christmas that looks very promising, so maybe it will help me kick the bad rereading-only habit.
  • Try to cut down on the soda! I did so well for a while, then exams decided to latch on to what ever time and energy I had, and the pure sugar of coca cola was all that kept me awake, obliterating any progress I had made.

What do you think of New Years Resolutions? Do you have any of your own, or do you, like me, have more along the lines of wishes and hopes than resolutions?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

