Skip to content

The magic of candles.

September 6, 2010

Right now I’m in the library, and I’m supposed to be working on an assignment for my special educations class…with no motivation what so ever…Oh well..I still have a week and a half before the paper is due, so I’m not in trouble yet.

Yesterday was a day of complete relaxation for me. The past week has been pretty stressful and exhausting, so I decided to spend most of the day in my pajamas, doing absolutely nothing but glare at the tv.

I did clean my room a bit though, because as it got dark outside, I all of a sudden got the urge to light my candles, make a hot cup of cocoa, put on a good movie,and pretend that it’s really fall outside. All my candles were pretty much buried in dust and old papers though, so some cleaning was definitely necessary before my excellent plan could be put into action.

I love candles. The smell, the atmosphere they create, everything…I have a wooden lantern with room for a tea-light in it, and the hot wood smells just amazing. It reminds me of when I was a kid and my mom, dad and me would go to my grandparents cabin, which has no electricity, heating or water. We have to burn firewood just to keep warm, to cook, to melt ice for drinking or cleaning water…I love it! It’s the best little cabin in the world. Better yet, I believe it was my grandfather who build it himself! And the smell of the candles and warm wood reminds me of the smell and feel of the cabin, and calms me right down. It’s magical! And it just makes my room that much more cozy and lovely.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jasnette permalink
    September 6, 2010 8:25 pm

    I’m just here to inform you (after reading your post, which I agree to) that I’m going to drown you in the toilet one day unless you stop talking about Dr. Who

    • September 6, 2010 8:41 pm

      It’s worth it! The Doctor is far too epic to let a toilet stand in his way 😛

Leave a Reply

