Skip to content

Tagged!

August 30, 2010

Okay, so Jasnette Tagged me in one of these, and I figured, hey, I want to blog and I need something to blog about, so why not? It’s a kind of questionaire on books. You answer the questions, and then tag up to three people who has to answer them as well, and in turn pass them on to others.

  • What books are you reading right now?

I’m reading several different ones. The Earth’s Children series by Jean M. Auel. I’m on book two now, The Valley of Horses. I’m planning on continuing where I left of this summer on the Uglies series by Scott Westerfield, and I’m in the middle of book 2 in the Night Huntress series by Jeaniene Frost. I’m ALSO reading the short stories and novellas of H.P Lovecraft, which are AMAZING! If you like the eerie creepiness of Edgar Allen Poe, you’ll adore the short horror masterpieces of Lovecraft.

  • Where do you prefer to read?

In bed, right before I fall asleep. It calms down my thoughts enough for me to actually sleep. I may only read two or three pages before I have to give up, turn of the lights and start to snore, but still…I like reading on the train or buss as well. That way, the travelling doesn’t seem to take so long, and I don’t have to talk to the person sitting next to me unless I feel like it.

  • What book do you wish were made into a movie?

Weeeeeeell….I’m not much of a fan of movies based on books. They are usually such a disappointment (One of few exceptions being The Lord of the Rings), and I keep noticing little things they’ve left out that I feel should have been included, and things that they have included that I think could have been scrapped for other scenes. I would have loved to see The Silmarillion brought to screen, but I doubt that will ever happen.

If it does, I hope they focus on one of the main stories though, and keep Peter Jackson on as director.

  • What’s your favourite book?

No fair, I can’t answer that! There are so many!!

Harry Potter, The Wheel of Time, Battle Royale, Of Marriagable Age, The Secret Diaries, Southern Vampire Mysteries(The Sookie Stackhouse novels)…But if I have to choose one, I guess it would be The Lord of The Rings.

  • Is there any books you’re looking forward to reading the next couple of months?

Oh, definitely!! The next-to-last book in The Wheel of Time series! I’ll be preordering it soon, so that I’ll get it when it’s released in November.

  • What do you think is the prettiest cover on a book?

The Lord of the Rings, with John Howe’s Gandalf. It’s simply perfect, and the drawing is a brilliant vision of the Gandalf we get to know in the book. On the surface, an old traveler in dirty old robes, his pointed hat and staff always with him, but beneath that, a strong wizard with powers greater than any of his companions,with the possible exception of Aragorn, can imagine.

I also love the movie-edition cover of Memoirs of a Geisha. It is so melancholic, sad, and abselutely stunning, and has something hopeful to it through all the sadness,  like the book, which just so happens to be one of my favorites.

And thus I pass on the torch to Badger and Yvonne! I can’t think of anyone else, since everyone I know who blogges and has an interest in books has already done this.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jasnette permalink
    August 30, 2010 5:02 pm

    -whispers- Badger has already been tagged, she just hasn’t posted yet…

Leave a Reply

