Skip to content

These are a few of my favorite things…

August 23, 2010
tags: ,

Summer is almost over, and the nights are getting darker, the daylight hours shorter, and the rainy season known as fall is soon upon us.  I always get a bit down and moody around this time of year. I love fall, I do, but I get a bit weather-sick non the less. A little while back, I came across this lovely post in the Freshly Pressed section, and I got inspired to write my own little list of things that cheer me up. To quote Maria from The Sound of Music: These are a few of my favorite things:

Photo found on ojosverde.deviantart.com

Rain: Yes, you read right. I really like the rain. It’s so soothing, and the sound of rain against the window is one of the best noises I know.  I love the way the sidewalks are shining with puddles of rainwater, and the smell of the air right after a real shower.It calms me right down, for some reason. The sky looks so dramatic, and everything seems so fresh and clean.

To use what has become one of my favorite quotes ever: Anyone who says that sunshine brings happiness has never danced in the rain.

I swear, one day, I’ll dance in the rain, barefoot on the grass. It’s one of my goals in life, and it will happen!

Cats purring: It has to be one of the best sounds in the entire world. I can’t help but smile and be happy when my little kitten back home jumps up on the couch next to me, leans his little furry head onto my hand and starts to purr.

A long, warm shower or bath: I love standing in the shower, letting the hot water just run down my back, relaxing every particle of my way-too-stressed-out body.  And if I’ve been able to do a facial beforehand, even better. I grinned like an idiot when one of my friends had bought me a whole bunch of mud-masks for my birthday, just imagining the home-spa I could treat myself to after spending long hours slaving over textbooks before exams. Hot water, a steam-filled bathroom, facial-masks and perhaps a little fixing of the nails afterwards. It’s just to bad that my student housing doesn’t have a bathtub..Or maybe it’s smart..I probably would have lived there.

Photo from Wikimedia Commons

Books: Has to be one of the greatest inventions in the world. My idea of heaven is to curl up on my sofa or in a huge comfy chair,a cup of hot cocoa or tea next to me, and a book in my hands, preferably with the wind howling outside and the rain pounding on the window. I can spend hours reading, disappearing into the strange worlds between the pages.

Through literature, I’ve traveled with Frodo and the Fellowship on their journey through Middle Earth in Tolkiens Lord of the Rings, seen the Nothing’s destruction of Fantasia alongside Bastian and Atreyu in The Never Ending Story, learned magic and enchantments at Hogwarts with Harry, Ron and Hermione, and laughed and cried with Sayuri through her time as a maiko in Memoirs of a Geisha. Some might call it escapism and silly, but honestly, so what? Sometimes I feel like escaping and I think books are a much better and heathier way of doing so than others.

What are your favorite things that make you relax and chases away bad cases of the sads?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 5:05 pm

    Oooh, the cat purr. I wish I could bottle and sell it!!

  2. August 24, 2010 7:01 pm

    Yeah, me too 😀

Leave a Reply

