Skip to content

The last of the summer wine…

August 13, 2010
tags:

WARNING: This will be a pretty photo-heavy post 😛

Next week, school starts again, and this is my last night at home before I head back to Levanger and my lonely, quiet dormroom.*sobs* I always think it’s sad to pack up and leave home. It doesn’t matter that I’m 25. It still feels weird not living with my mom, even though it’s been three years since I moved out. It just feel strange not to have her wandering about the house, giving me a bright smile every morning when I get up for breakfast. And this summer’s gone by so quickly, it hardly feels like I’ve been home at all. And when I leave tomorrow, I won’t see my brother until christmas, since he’s going to the Netherlands to study. Thinking back though, this has probably been one of the best summers I’ve had in long time.  I’ve been playing a lot of Trivial Pursuits on Wii with some friends, had endless hours of Doctor Who marathons and Arkham Horror nights. And we had the worlds cutest little kittens here!

Aren't they just adorable?

I’ve gone for loads of walks ( well, loads for me, at least). One of my friends and I have been walking the trail in a forest nearby, and it’s so beautiful there!

There’s loads of sheep there as well, and moose…but we didn’t see the great King of the Forest this year. Of course it was raining the whole time the first day we went there, but it was a lot of fun anyway. I just love the place! It just feels so ancient and trollish, mysterious and spooky, specially during the late hours of the day. And we took a bunch of pictures..I don’t know how many photo we have of sheep by now, but it’s quite a few.

My mom even managed to get me out on a family trip! We went to this river where my stepdad goes fishing sometimes. I’ve only been there once before, and it’s very pretty. Very norwegian *smiles*

One day a friend and I even got the crazy idea to go camping…If you can call pitching up a tent in her back yard camping*laughs* I was soooo tired the next morning…She lives in the middle of a bird sanctuary, and believe me, birds aren’t quiet at night! I think I slept maybe two hours all night.

One tired camper...

Due to the midnight sun we get some very pretty sunsets, like I’ve mentioned before , and this summer was full of them!

Speaking of the sun, a miracle happened this summer! My mom actually convinced me to lay outside, sunbathing! I usually never do, because it’s too hot, dull, and I burn extremely fast, even with sunblock. In addition, I’m one of those people who doesn’t get tan, I get pink, so in the end I pretty much look like a pig in a wig. Needless to say, I stay out of the sun as much as I can.

Oh, and I had my birthday as well! I am now a quarter of a century old! It’s weird…I don’t feel like I’m in my mid twenties. I always thought I would feel all grown up and secure when I was this age, but I don’t. Oh well…

As it’s my last day home, my mom took me out to eat today, and we had a really nice time, just sitting outside in the breeze with our food.

My mom, the multitasker*grins* She’s only missing the cigarette she’s usually smoking.

When we were eating, I suddenly noticed how shiny the table was. And shiny table=very reflective. It was kind of like a very smooth and dark water surface.  And the sun and the trees around us were mirrored oddly in the tabletop right next to me. It was such a cool image, I just had to click on my camera and take a picture. (Hey, I warned you this post would be photo-heavy)

When we got back home, I had to pack my stuff for my trip tomorrow, which was sad! I hate to see my room go from feeling lived in to just plain empty, and knowing I won’t be back for a long time. To make the evening a bit easier for me once I was done packing, and to do something nice for the rest of the family, I made brownies!!! Not just any brownies, but peanut-fudge brownies! *noms* True, I didn’t make them from scratch, but they were good non the less.

Anyway,  now it’s time for bed. I’m getting up again in 4 and a half hours eat breakfast and say goodbye to who ever’s up before I leave for Levanger.

What’s your summer been like?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

