Skip to content

How much sharing is too much? Blogs and privacy.

July 13, 2010

Lately I’ve been reading different Norwegian blogs, trying to get some ideas for my own random ramblings, and it got me thinking. A lot of these blogs were deeply personal, and the bloggers were writing about anything from sex to their experiences with eating disorders and depression, no sugarcoating the issues. While most remained anonymous, some were not, or so badly disguised that anyone who wanted to could find out who the author was. I understand that many use their blogs as a way to vent their emotions and frustrations, and want to share their experiences. I do the same, I know. But what made me think were the blogs that weren’t anonymous. One  girl wrote completely honestly about her battle with bulimia  and cutting, and her parents mental disorders. I love the fact  that she is willing to be open about everything, but the thing is, she’s  from a tiny place close to me, and if I wanted to, I probably could have found out who she is in real life. Would I have wanted everyone around me knowing about my personal  issues? No, not really, and I doubt she wants to either, and she says she wishes to keep her blog anonymous. I don’t even tell  my closest friends everything. As much as I would have loved  to pour all my problems and issues into this blog, if only to let someone else know they’re not alone if they’re going through  the same thing, I won’t. The world is just too small.

If I were  to start a blog like that, I would make sure it couldn’t be traced  to me: no naming of places, no personal e-mail address, no private photos, no nothing. True, you’re supposed to share who you are and make your blog your own, it’s what makes a blog interesting, but I think there should be limits to what we expose of ourselves, without really making sure it’s anonymous. If you don’t mind everyone around you who reads blogs knowing that you’re struggling with bulimia, or that you had a terrible one-night stand that weekend then by all means, write about it. If not, use your common sense before clicking that “publish” button. The world is tiny, and Norway decidedly so, so the chance that someone you know will read it is actually pretty big.

The same goes for social networks like Facebook and Twitter. I actually heard about a woman who got fired from her job because her Facebook said that she was watching Paradise Hotel one evening. She hadn’t updated during work or anything. An extreme case for sure, but it goes to show that we need to be careful with what we put out there.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jasnette permalink
    July 13, 2010 8:34 pm

    Yikes, that was one looooong paragraph you got there… Did something mess up your format?

    I agree with you though, it’s scary, and it’s very easy to get carried away. I think I wrote about that at one point too.

    Now, on another note, it’s 20:34… Where are you?! You and Yvonne are running more then half an hour late, you know…

Leave a Reply

