Skip to content

Northern Ireland, here I come, with all my new books and stuffs!

September 13, 2009

This time next month, I’ll be sitting in my room in Coleraine, Northern Ireland!  We (me and the three people in my class that I’m travelling with) just ordered our planetickets three days ago.  I seriously can not wait! I’ve never been to Ireland before, and it will be my first real chance to practice my spoken english properly in years!

I’m also close to done with my cupboard! It’s all painted and pretty now, so all I have to do is attach the shelves and the door, and some minor last minute decorating, like painting these tiny wooden stars silver and carving out my signature and the very special 090909 date. I like working with wood, and it’s been alot of fun, but all the sawdust in the woodshop gets stuck on my lenses, and has given me an eye infection that just won’t go away! Very anoying! I’ll post pictures of the cupboard once it’s done 😀

I’m spending the weekend with my aunt, grandfather and my two cousins, and yesterday we went in to Trondheim to do some shopping. Of course, the Fantasy/Manga-geek in me couldn’t resist a trip to Outland, my number one source of mangas, imported dvd’s and literature.  Going there can get quite expencive, and yesterday was no exeption: I got a few mangas: Nana vol. 17 and 18, and Vampire Knight vol. 3:

Manga

I bought a few other things as well- the L:Change the worLd dvd and two books: Cassandra Claire’s City of Bones and Caitlin R. Kiernan’s Threshold.

Books and L

All in all, it was a great trip! I gasped when I actualy found City of Bones! I’ve loved Cassandra Claire’s writing ever since I read the awsomely epic Secret Diaries Lord of the Rings fic she created, and I have been trying to find the Mortal Instruments series here in Norway for a while. One of my friends, Jasnette, lent me her copy months ago, but I haven’t had the time to read it yet.  Studying for my exams had to be a priority, and during summer holidays I had my head burried in the Wheel Of Time series, rereading it before the release of the next WoT book, The Gathering Storm, on the 27th of October. I seriously hope Brandon Sanderson doesn’t mess it up…Tor Books has released the first chapter on their website, and so far, so good. You can tell that Robert Jordan didn’t write all of it, but it’s still brilliant and epic. If the rest of the book is just as good, then I’ll be happy. I think Sanderson will do a realy good job carrying on Jordans legacy through the last few books.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. luinhen permalink
    September 14, 2009 7:23 pm

    young lady I demand a POSTCARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    so glad you get to go, lucky girl!!
    have fun, and let’s try and meet before you leave…

  2. September 14, 2009 8:02 pm

    Of course we have to meet before I go! I’m coming home this weekend, and I have friday off…I could maybe come into town then, and we can have an Arkham encounter?

Leave a comment