Skip to content

Blast from the past

August 13, 2008
tags:

First of, I need to appologize for the fact that my blog’s been so Twilight-sentic lately. Breaking Dawn is out now, so I’ll be writing about other stuff as well now, thought I will naturaly update with news on the movie and Midnight Sun.

A week or so ago I got a sudden urge to reread one of the great literary loves of my childhood: Animorphs, the series about five kids who were given the ability to turn into any animal they could touch, by a dying alien.

I was twelve when my aunt bought the first three books for me for my birthday. They had just been released in norwegian. At first I didn’t think they looked all that interesting, but one day I was bored and decided to read them. That was all it took. K.A. Applegate had me at “My name is Jake”. For the next four or five years I followed Jake, Cassie, Rachel, Tobias, Marco and Ax closely through all their battles with Visser Three and the Yeerks, and I was thrilled that one of the characters shared my name. I even subscribed to the books, so I would get them the day they were released. I still remember the thrill and shock of the last few books, when we finally learned Jake’s last name, and the death of one of my favorite fictional characters.

I loved the storyline and the characters, and it’s been years since the last time I read the books, so I was kind of exited to see if I would still feel the same way now, as a 23-year-old.

So far, the books are every bit as incredible as I remember. Sure, the language is a “bit” childish, even more so due to the norwegian translations, but that doesn’t matter. The story is still captivating and fascinating, and I get so nostalgic while reading, it’s like I’m sitting in a hot, stuffy kitchen in Belgium again, 12-13 years old, learning of the Invasion for the first time, and begging my father to buy the newest books for me when he was out traveling.

And then i heard that a tv-series was being made. I would finally see Hork Bajirs, Taxxons and, of course, andalites brought to life. Well…the tv-series was a disappointment, I must admit, but it was still Animorphs.

I think Animorphs will always have a special place in my heart, and I’ll most certainly have my future kids read them.

Oh, and I still wish I could go flying with Tobias…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2009 8:34 pm

    You sum up exactly how I feel about Animorphs too! I cried when I read the last book! Best childhood series!

  2. January 10, 2009 12:07 am

    *sobs* I cried so much. I realy hope they republish the books sometime soon. They’re still awsome, and with the fantasy/sci-fi craze the world’s been in ever since Harry Potter came out, and the power of online fandom these days, I think they could make it big yet again.

Leave a Reply

