Skip to content

Books and Me

May 3, 2008
tags:

Those of you that have met me, and talked to me a few times, have discovered that I have a passion for books. On Facebook I’m a member of many groups dedicated to different books and literature in general.

Often, my less book-loving friends just shake their heads and looks at me like I’ve suddenly grown a third arm or something when I yet again begin to ramble about my newest book-obsession. Usually, they ask me why I bother to read a 1000 page book over and over again( Lord Of The Rings), or what’s so great about books.

Therefore I thought I’d try to explain here.

I have a very strange relationship with my books. Sometimes, I prefer books to human company, and I can spend hours just reading if the book is good enough.

I remember when I was little, maybe 3 years or so, when my mom wanted to get me something special, she bought these little books about Bamse Bjørn, Pingu, the Mumin and so on..I loved them, and still have them, even though they’re qiute old now, and only about 10 pages or so. One day, I want my kids to have them.

When I’m reading, the world around me kind of dissapears, and I’m transported to whatever place the books are set. The characters and eventualy the book itself, if good,becomes my friends.  Whenever I reread a book, when I open it, I remember how I felt the first time I read it, and the exitement of letting the story unfold on the pages before me.  I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve wished that I could just say a few magic words, and all of a sudden I’d be at Hogwarts with Harry and the gang, learing how to mix potions, or in Rivendell, about to set out to destroy the One Ring. (Yes, I am a fantasy.freak 😛 ) And I’m always sort of “lost” whenever I finish a book. I’m torn between wanting to know how a story ends, and eishing to read more, for the book to continue, to hear more stories about the characters I’ve come to love…

My books have given me comfort through some tough and lonely times during my teens and alot of them will always have a special place in my life

And as they say “besides a dog, books are a girls best friend.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. anette18 permalink
    May 5, 2008 9:40 am

    Oh! I know exactly how you feel! That was really strange, reading this, ‘cous I’ve so often been thinking the same! ^^
    Really, I liked this post, too bad there aren’t any “favourites” where I can put it^^

    “Besides a daog, books are a girls best friend.”!! I so agree! lmao!

  2. Malin permalink
    May 5, 2008 6:38 pm

    well, well. what can i say. I might not love books quite as much as you, but i come come close;) boy don’t i have a clue of what you feel. hehehe…

    and let me let you in on an secret: I’M NOT ASHAMED;););););)

    I’m gonna keep letting myself be taken away from reality over and over again.

Leave a Reply

